Lesson # 1: Wonder Working Weakness

     

Danny, Ed, Ricky, & Marshall

Two weeks ago I arrived back home.  I traveled to Ethiopia with a team composed of members from five NC churches.  Since returning, I have had  time, I trust, to reflect on our trip. One of the first impressions that I had on the flight was that the work of the Kingdom is accomplished by weak people.  I know for some readers this is not a new insight. However, weakness was plain to me on the flight and throughout the trip.   As I listened and observed members of our team on the flight that night, I was reminded of Jesus’ words to Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”    

Mrs. BeckyLynn a.k.a. Momma B

Jesus’ strength could be most visibly seen in our brave team leader, Mrs.BeckyLynn.  Doctors diagnosed Momma B with cancer less than a year ago.  Since that time, she has endured long hours of chemotherapy and radiation.  If this were not enough, Momma B worked tirelessly round the clock making preparations for our trip!  To attempt to put this in perspective, imagine trying to organize and unify over 20 team members from six different Baptist churches.    When is the last time six Baptists agreed on anything:)?    

Team members moving out

Jesus’ power was evident in the lives of other team members as well.  Jesus’ grace helped one team member overcome a stubborn nausea from New York to Addis.  Jesus’ grace helped another team member endure  sleep apnea, another endured an allergic reaction to a medication, another team member suffered with debilitating headaches.  All of us had things that terrified us: one was afraid of heights, one is claustrophobic, some of us, I’m sure, were afraid of the unknown, some afraid of the unseen, some afraid of the uncertain. Amid all of the fears and weaknesses we were carried along by the grace of God.   

Looking up

  As we crossed the Atlantic, the Lord reminded me, as I observed the weaknesses of others and keenly felt my own, that  even from  36,000  we better keep looking up!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the report!

    -Alan

    Reply

  2. […] from “Ben & Bet’s Weblog” with “Lesson # 1: Wonder Working Weakness.” (A report from his trip to Ethiopia, 2 weeks before our […]

    Reply

  3. Really enjoyed this about your trip.

    Reply

  4. I love the post Brother! You are indeed a man of wisdom, integrity and Bible knowledge. I enjoyed our talks in Soyama. God bless you my friend!

    Reply

    • Posted by benbets on August 4, 2010 at 1:50 am

      Kevin,

      Thank you. My life has been enriched through my new friendship with you and Dale. I hope we can get together in the near future. God’s best

      Ben D.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Dale Jennings on August 5, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Brother Ben,
    I just found this and you are so correct and full of wisdom. As we read from Holy Scripture God uses the foolish to confound the wise and the weak to show his strength. I love your heart and enjoyed every moment we had together in Ethiopia. I definitley look forward to when we can see each other again.
    Dale

    Reply

Leave a Reply

